Dianne Hathaway Named 2022 Director of the Year

A smiling Dianne Hathaway sits in front of a bookshelf.

Goffstown Public Library Director, Dianne Hathaway, was selected for the New Hampshire Library Trustees Association’s (NHLTA) 2022 Director of the Year Award. The award will be presented by the NHLTA on Wednesday, November 9 at 6pm at the Goffstown Public Library.

The Library Director of the Year Award is given to a director that exhibits professionalism, leadership, and outstanding performance and has made notable contributions toward fulfilling the mission and goals of the library and demonstrates initiative in developing programs and services to meet community needs and enhance the quality of life.

The Goffstown Public Library Board of Trustees nominated Hathaway, with support from Selectwoman Kelly Boyer and the Friends of the Goffstown Public Library, citing her knowledge, professionalism, leadership, and community investment.

“Dianne, with the support of her outstanding staff, has done an exemplary job in realizing the mission of the Goffstown Public Library,” the nomination read. “Under her direction, the library provides a safe and welcoming space for people to explore and engage with important – and sometimes difficult – issues.”

“I have never met someone so passionate, thoughtful, and so driven to serve the community,” said Boyer. “Dianne is the kind of leader who empowers her staff fully. Working with her team to find innovative ways to hold true to the mission of public library service and providing services for residents, expanding outreach and accessibility, and bringing forward an in-depth summer program is a true testament to Dianne’s leadership and confidence in her employees.”

Hathaway has served as director of the Goffstown Public Library for more than 22 years. She received the Ann Geisel Award of Merit by the New Hampshire Library Association in 2018, in recognition for her outstanding contributions to the New Hampshire library community. She holds a BS from Southern Connecticut State University and a graduate degree from Simmons University. She was the 2013 NH Mentor to the New England Library Leadership Symposium and has served on the GMILCS board.

For additional information, please contact: Dianne Hathaway, (603) 497-2102, dianneh@goffstownlibrary.com.

NHLTA Award Presentation, November 2022


Dianne Hathaway holds a bouquet of pink flowers, standing besides a white and pink frosted cake.
Dianne celebrates with staff on September 28, 2022